New alimony and domestic violence law to take effect in Pennsylvania.
Domestic Violence and Alimony Laws in Pennsylvania
Legislation that was sponsored by state Rep. John Lawrence, R-13, has been signed into law by Governor Tom Wolf of Pennsylvania.
Previously, it was possible that victims of domestic violence were paying alimony to an abusive spouse that was convicted of domestic violence. However, under the new law Act 102, that is no longer the case.
“I appreciate Gov. Tom Wolf’s approval of my bill. I have heard from victims of domestic violence all over the state who have been ordered by a judge to pay alimony to their abusive soon-to-be ex-spouse. This legislation corrects that injustice to ensure that, going forward, people will not have to pay their abuser.” Statement by Rep. John Lawrence.
The law was passed overwhelmingly in both the House and Senate and will be effective in sixty 60 days.
In addition, the final victim protection bill that was sponsored by Sen. Art Haywood, D-4, allows for housing authority tenants who are a victim of domestic or sexual violence to request relocation if the domestic or sexual violence occurred on or near the home within 90 calendar days of the request.
Relocation is also possible if the victim believes they are in imminent harm from domestic or sexual violence if they remain in the home.
Alexander Hernandez, Esq.
Cohabitation in Utah could result in alimony payments being modified.
The very progressive law signed on April 26, 2018 and known as House Bill 528, automatically assumes that “that joint custody and equal shared parenting time is in the best interest of the child in every divorce case.”
After being married for 67 years, millionaire couple is calling it quits, and it is a nasty divorce.
Alexander Hernandez represents clients in the areas of Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, Family Law/Divorce, and car and motorcycle accidents.
(904) 712-5565 or (305)-688-LAWS (5297).