Starting on October 1st, Florida becomes “hands-free” in school and construction zones.
Fines are $60 and three points on their driver’s license.
Read: Texting and Driving Law
For now, you can still hold the phone in your hand anywhere else, but earlier in the year texting and driving became a primary offense, meaning you can be stopped by a police officer for texting while driving. However, the amount of tickets issued so far have been minimal.
The Florida Statute on Texting and Driving, 316.305, can be seen via this link.
With Florida going “hands-free” with cell phone use in designated areas, it is likely we will see Florida become completely “hands-free” soon.
If you have been involved in a car accident because a driver was texting and driving, contact attorney Alex Hernandez now for a free consultation to know your rights.
Representing clients in the areas of Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, Family Law/Divorce, and car and motorcycle accidents for 20 years.
(904) 712-5565 or (305)-688-LAWS (5297).
*Se Habla Español