Florida finally signed into law prohibiting texting while driving.
Originally, the texting and driving law was a secondary offense, meaning a police officer could not pull you over and issue a citation unless you were pulled over for a moving violation first.
The law takes place beginning on July 1, 2019.
Under the new law, there is also a ban on using a handheld cell phone while driving a motor vehicle in a designated school crossing, school zone, or a road work zone. You can however, use your phone “hands-free. That section on the law begins Oct. 1st.
Violation of using your phone in the school and work zone, carries a first violation penalty of $30 fine and $60 for the second moving forward, however, that is exclusive of court costs.
One can still text at a stoplight or whenever your vehicle is stopped.
Note that as of July 1st, texting and driving is now a primary offense in Florida. Are you a victim of an auto accident? Then call or text attorney Alex Hernandez for your free consultation.
Representing clients in the areas of Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, Family Law/Divorce, and car and motorcycle accidents for 20 years.
(904) 712-5565 or (305)-688-LAWS (5297).
*Se Habla Español