No-Fault Divorce States With Separation Requirement

Photo: Huffpost

The following is a list of states that require the parties in a dissolution of marriage to live apart for a minimum length of time before seeking a no-fault divorce.

The length of time required varies by state and ranges from 180 days to five years.

  • Alabama – 2 years 
  • Connecticut – 18 months 
  • Hawaii – 2 years 
  • Idaho – 5 years 
  • Illinois – 2 years 
  • Louisiana – 180 days 
  • Minnesota – 180 days 
  • Nevada – 1 year 
  • Ohio – 1 year 
  • Pennsylvania – 2 years 
  • Rhode Island – 3 years 
  • Tennessee – 2 years 
  • Texas – 3 years 
  • Utah – 3 years 
  • West Virginia – 1 year

Information obtained from source LegalBeagle.com

Attorney Alex Hernandez

Representing clients in the areas of Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, Family Law/Divorce, and car and motorcycle accidents for 20 years. (904) 712-5565 or (305)-688-LAWS (5297). *Se Habla Español

%d bloggers like this: